COAG Independent Energy Appointments Selection Panel

Publication date: Tuesday, 17th July 2018.

The role of the COAG Energy Council Energy Appointments Selection Panel is to provide recommendations to the COAG Energy Council (the Council) on appointments to the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO), Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC), Australian Energy Regulator (AER), and Energy Consumers Australia (ECA).

The Council’s Protocol for Appointments to Energy Market Governance Institutions and Panels (the Protocol) provides a uniform set of procedures for Council appointments to these institutions.

The Protocol also provides procedures for the appointment of members to the Selection Panel.

The Selection Panel is comprised of six members including an ex officio Chair to be nominated by the governments, three representatives nominated by the government (ministerial members), and two representatives nominated by industry (industry members). Current members of the Selection Panel are:

  • Ms Samantha Tough (Chair) - appointed until May 2023.

  • Mr Tony Wood (ministerial member) - appointed until May 2023.

  • Ms Jo Benvenuti (ministerial member) - appointed until May 2022.

  • Ms Shirley in’t Veld (industry member) - appointed until May 2022.

  • Ms Kate Spargo (industry member) - appointed until January 2020.

  • Mr John Adams (ministerial member) - appointed until May 2020.


File nameSize
PDF icon Schedule of Appointments.pdf14.83 KB


Council Priority Issue